>Due Date: Review

>     So, I rented Due Date yesterday, with a free rental code from Redbox I might add. That’s not really relevant to this review though, is it?

     Anyway, Due Date stars Robert Downey Jr. as Peter Highman who gets into a minor conflict on a plane with Ethan Tremblay, played by Zach Galifianakis. Galifianakis is still basically playing the same character he played in The Hangover, but it still works for him. Peter lands himself in an argument about terrorists with Ethan and gets taken down by a U.S. Marshall. This, of course, gets taken care of but lands them both on the no-fly list. Peter has to get to L.A. because his wife’s due date is in five days. Since he can’t fly, his only choice is to drive but he reluctantly ends up with Ethan. There’s the plot, take it or leave it.

     I have to say that I didn’t really enjoy the first half of this movie. Things only really took off when Ethan has to score some pot while Peter has to watch the drug dealer’s kids. I guess in the movies, it’s ok to punch a kid in the stomach to get him to leave you alone. I thought it was hilarious.

     I think the true test of a comedy is: Does it make you laugh out loud? This one only made me actually laugh a couple of times. The situations are funny but they’re not LOL material. Like I said, the second half is much better than the first half.

     Overall, I think due date had an excellent cast which also included Danny McBride and Jamie Foxx who helped things along: Danny being a crippled war vet who beats the crap out of Iron Man; Jamie who may or may not be that baby’s daddy. There were a few other things that make you wonder where do movies draw the line? I mean, they’ll put anything in a movie these days. But, hey, I’ll watch anything.

    

Leave a Reply

