>Love and Other Drugs: Review

>What is it, you ask, that the title is implying? That love is also a drug…HELLO?!
     I must say that I was looking forward to watching this movie. Jake Gyllenhaal, Anne Hathaway…how could you go wrong? This one rarely does.

     Gyllenhaal plays Jamie Randall, a fast talking salesman type that you can’t help but immediately like. That’s a good thing since he gets a job being a Pharmaceutical Rep selling drugs to doctors. Gyllenhaal (that’s hard to spell…) really keeps the first half of the movie going, just with his acting alone. It just seemed to me like he was having fun with his part. I know I’ve said that before, but who wouldn’t have fun acting? You’re getting paid good money to pretty much play pretend, come on people!

     Now, we meet Maggie Murdock, played exceptionally well by Hathaway. She’s sweet and has a few problems of her own. They don’t immediately hit it off of course but that’s what movies do. You can be so charming and then get that big grin smacked right off your face for trying to peek. Just watch it, you’ll know what I mean.

     The only problems that I had with this movie were the guy who plays Gyllenhaal’s brother and the slow parts, which weren’t many. I just didn’t think the brother was funny even though I’m sure he was meant to. Not to me.

It works as a romantic comedy and was worth the dollar I paid to rent it, (thank you very much, Redbox). I promise there is good things in it for guys and gals. ; )

Leave a Reply

